Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Fable of Gina

by danbolt - Compo Entry

The Fable of Gina! Who would have thought Zelda-style power-up puzzles go with April's theme of 'Shapeshift'? Yeah, it's pretty obvious. I somewhat did a cop-out on the innovation category this time.

The spacebar won't do anything immediately, but don't worry! Try it again when you become a bird. Trust me, it's super cool. ;)

Also, Xbox 360 gamepads work for this game.

I'd love to hear any feedback. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#204Graphics3.61
#205Mood3.32
#263Audio3.14
#284Humor2.72
#304Fun3.36
#345Theme3.54
#370Overall3.32
#757Innovation2.61

Comments

Eshford says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:05am

I didn't get the gold square :c

Game looks super cute, i really love zelda-like aesthetics. Very strong entry!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:09am

I like the old school flick screen design. Groovy tune. I'd really like to move diagonally, though.

AlmightyTuna says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:45am

Really fun retro styled game. I think some way to switch between your powers would have allowed for some really interesting level design

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:23am

Wow nice little game. I like the graphic style... it remembes me for my first console (Atari2600) I like the puzzles very much too. Thanks for rating my game too :)

euske says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:19am

It's good and polished!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:29pm

Nice little game. The zelda-like aesthetics were pretty charming. Not the most challenging puzzles but pretty satisfying nevertheless.

madk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:49pm

No diagonal movement? No way to recover health? Or to attack? I love the art and music and Zelda 1 nostalgia, but it's really hard to enjoy it as a game.

ginger9 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:11am

A little hard as a bird, a spike throw it to another.
Nice game.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Very retro feeling :) I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/ly5GDw3HErI

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Nice, complete design and mechanics. So cute when she cries.

siryakko says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:08am

Really nice retro zelda look and fun :)

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:19am

I was really excited when I saw this. But then I played it, and the movement was really choppy, and you can't actually do anything. Space and gamepad buttons do nothing, so you just wander around until you die. Makes me sad. :-(

monika says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:57am

After my third death on the spike corridor, I opened up dev tools gave myself an extra 20 lives. Other than the (totally thematically believable) difficulty, pretty fun!

Got stuck waiting for a monster who was blocking the path before the first key once, and some of the "this is the path you have to take now but there'll be a shortcut later" bits were almost too long, but they all felt like the kinds of rapid prototyping issues that happen in jams and get cleaned up right away with any extra development; it felt basically finished and ready for QA and polish.

virgate says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:34am

Nice twist on the Zelda formula!

Shizor says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:26am

Nice entry! Tough as nails tho, a way to replenish your lifes would be appreciated :p

CheesyRamen says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:35pm

Reminds me of a certain awesome old-school game ;)
Great work on it! :)

Crefossus says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Very good and polished. I had a little bit of learned helplessness after getting the punch ability. I didn't realize/even try to attack the enemies until I did accidentally.

Others already spoke of the difficulty being a bit much, although it was pretty rewarding when I finally made it through. Part of it might be that you don't realize each heart is so precious until after playing a few times.

Maybe it's my 360 controller, but the down direction seemed to not be working on the joystick smoothly (deadzone issue?) The dpad worked fine though. I'm not factoring this into my rating at all, just thought I'd let you know. Speaking of controller support I love how you show the notification on the main menu.

Brightstar says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:39am

Cool game. : )

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]