Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

BED✰HOGG

by 01010111 - Compo Entry

​[ CONTROLS - 360 CONTROLLER ]
RIGHT STICK & D-PAD.......MOVEMENT /
A..........JUMP / B........CHARGE ATTACK /
X........REGULAR ATTACK / Y......THROW

[ CONTROLS - QWERTY ]

ARROW KEYS......MOVEMENT
SPACE.....JUMP / W......CHARGE ATTACK /​
D........REGULAR ATTACK / A......THROW​

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

made with Haxeflixel / Haxe / OpenFL / Photoshop /
FLStudio / Plogue Chipsounds / Bedroom Producers
C64 Drum samples / FlashDevelop / <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall4.37
#5Graphics4.64
#6Fun4.23
#13Audio4.31
#34Mood3.96
#49Theme4.16
#68Humor3.86
#344Innovation3.41
#1667Coolness40%

Comments

handkor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59am

Everything about this is wonderful. Loved it.

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:34am

Amazing all around! I especially love the music and the understated yet effective audio. Everything is so juicy and delicious, from clever attack animations to fluffy feathers flying all over the place. At first I thought the AI was taking it easy on me, but she quickly caught up and I almost lost, LOL.

nicoleham says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:09am

OH BABY BABY! Yes to all that is happenin here

PixlWalkr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Awesome game with nice pixel art. I really like it!

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Super cute and FUN!

bnhw says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Splendid. Very well polished.

I did find the keyboard controls a bit jarring. Why doesn't the up arrow key jump?

nihilocrat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:28pm

ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ

snooze82 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:37pm

awesome!

Azurency says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:01pm

amazing funny game !

mattfox12 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Fantastic.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Very enjoyable, good entry.

recursor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:59pm

So much polish in so little time. How do you do it? I enjoyed this immensely.

Rycoon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:40pm

It's amazing! the soundtrack fits perfekt with the artstyle, gameplay and idea of the game. One of my favorite games of Ludum Dare 32

hexdie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Fantastic game! Great art, great music! I really like this! The AI is impressive given the time limit as well. Very nice work!

matthewd673 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Really fun game. I didn't have much time to play it but I thoroughly enjoyed myself. Wonderful, and it only took 48 hours!

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:51pm

This looks and sounds fantastic! I love the style. It plays really well on the controller too. Great work. I guess the only fault I can find is that it's derivative but that's acknowledged in the title :)

Congrats on the AI, she beat me a few times. Would love to know how you coded that.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Ah, I found the code. Thanks for the comments :)

https://github.com/01010111/BEDHOGG/blob/master/source/Controller.hx

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:11am

CPU is kind of easy. Not sure what the difference between normal attacks and charge attacks are. Throws are really over-powered.

It's pretty fun. Audio works really well, and the graphics are attractive. I think more balancing could be used. The controls are really solid, though.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:28am

Damn, this is awesome. I loved everything about it

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:01am

Lots of fun, even when I got pummeled by the CPU!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:16am

Pretty awesome. Needs two player mode so I can fight my friend, CPU is too easy.

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:23am

Man this game is so cool, respect.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:23am

Wonderful!

aeveis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:43am

hello! Clever title :) very nice game, the art, audio and controls are great. I just played against the cpu for a while.

I liked the contrast with the bg and the characters - gives a nice sense of depth.

The attacks I used the throw the most, then the regular attack. I didn't use the charge attack a lot. I feel like that might be different in multiplayer though. The throw attack is pretty strong, maybe even more of a cost for using it other than losing your weapon? like movement or delay.

nice job!

GFM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:47am

Wow!! This is so cool!
I gotta play this with some friends!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:35am

I actually tried to speedrun this game, managed 8 seconds against the AI. https://puu.sh/hlkO0/d8955f3da3.png
Great job all around the game feels great.

Squeka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:25am

Short but fun game especially throwing the pillow to the opponent.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:33am

So cute, so fun. Thank you for brightening my day.

tughan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:01am

Great looking game, very well polished. Loved it!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:32pm

I like how fluid the movement is

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Aaaand first time I give 5 stars in multiple categories, congratulation!

PurpleApes says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:33pm

very cool!

drschizzo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Realy awesome game. Nice graphics, cool soundtrack and even a decent IA

agirreb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Perfect. Best game I've seen so far. I can't believe this was made in just 48 hours.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Very fun game. Great music and wonderful replayability.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Made a twitch highlight of me playing it. http://www.twitch.tv/alucardx60/c/6578248

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:49pm

This is sooo good! Fun game and really polished. It's really awesome that you've also added a CPU. :)

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Really great game. Solid polish and detail all around. Amazing color palette and I just love the perspective and lines used in the background art. Good job!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:57pm

This is best thing I've played so far. Every aspect seems executed so good and all fits together perfectly! I love the take on the theme and I think that you have to exit in order to win as opposed to just getting a certain amounts of hits is so clever as it feels like you can actually claim your win instead of just winning. Which adds a lot to the feel of it. Amazing!

FractalFox says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Your game is amazing and I hope you win everything ever. <33333 -Veo

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:45am

Amazing polish and style. Love all the JUICE you added, from tilting sprites to cool particles and everything else. Keep up the fantastic work.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:53am

Wow! this is amazing! I did the same theme, but with more of a super smash bros. arena fighting type deal.

Love your art style, it's very reminiscent of yoshis island. The sprite warping looks really clean.

Your AI works beautifully. I want to put similar AI in to my game, but that's a little above my understanding

grillaface says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:19am

Once again 01010111 knocks it out the park! Graphics, sound, everything is amazing and the AI is really fun to play against. Great great great!!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:33am

Awesome music and awesome graphics. Really fun game! I could play it for a long time, I always love fighting games! :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:35am

Great pixel art! I really loved this game. Keyboard controlls were tough to get down, but once I tried a controller it rocked. Great work. I would love to try this with two controllers!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:42am

Top notch work! HaxeFlixel makes general platformer stuff such a joy to work with (we used it also) - you can focus less on the engine and more on all the cool stuff like FX and art, AI, etc that really help a game stand out. Great job on the art/design/music/et al!

I know it's mostly meant as a 2-player game, but I feel like the single player experience could be a bit better if there was a series of more difficult opponents or something, etc. But I know that's hard to pull off in 2 days.

graebor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:33am

Oh wow this is so rad! Love everything about it, amazing job!

omaha says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:42am

Very Nice! I really like the AI. It's tough but beatable. The feather particles are beautiful.

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:41am

Not just hilarious, but also great fun. The art is fantastic, as are the music and sounds. Really excellent work!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Awesome game! I really liked the gameplay, graphics and music, congratulations!
One thing though: when i died the first time the controls became unresponsive - i could not press space to play again and was stuck at the game over screen.

Xaychru says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Very polished game! I could only play in single player mode, so the gameplay was a bit repetitive, but still really fun to play!

marinalucio says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Such a great game! I'm impressed it was developed in 72 hours. The graphics are great, the music is great and the idea is something we can all relate to. I wanna play this so bad on a gamepad against a friend. Great work! :)

rxi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Stunning all around. Music and art were excellent, controls were tight. A fairly small but fairly lovely game.

BeardoGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Really impressive overall game, with lots of great details like the feathers. I like that you even have a bunch of options at your disposal with the pillow. Super super well done.

ekun says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Despite only being able to play single player, I really enjoyed this game. The pixel art is gorgeous, the characters are cute, and the AI pleasantly surprised me with its competence.

It would've been nice to have some more challenging content for a single player playthrough, but given the amount of time you had I have no complaints.

Nicely done, as always!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:32pm

I like to imagine that these are the kids that grew up to be pilots in Redshift Blueshift.

OK, so I've played this about 10 times on different occasions to get my true feelings on it because at first I was so blown away that I had to take a few steps back.

Since then I've played some other games, left a few comments, did some rating... and then I came back to this and it's still awesome.

This game is almost perfect. And the things keeping it from being perfect are kind of silly, but I'll explain them.

1) The sprite for the two main characters, while good, is not nearly as good as the backgroud art. The funny thing is... if the background art was on the same level as the character art, then the graphics would be perfect to me. I guess what I'm getting at is consistency. Despite everything being GREAT, you have this PERFECT background that makes me wish the whole game looked like that. Even something simple like some shading where the hair meets the face... something to give it that same depth/texture as the gorgeous stage art. Graphics are still a 5/5 - and saying "my art is too good" is never a bad thing. And really... this is all about time limits because I feel like you would add some zing to those sprites if you had time. I had the same issue with my entry.

2) The AI is predictable. This can be solved by playing with 2 players, which is a REALLY FUN EXPERIENCE. And how dare you not program insanely smart and challenging AI in 48 hours? Right? Yeah, I didn't have time for that with my game, either. And again, this is something you could improve on with more time but I still feel like the true experience was meant for 2 players.

And that's really it. So you can see I had to scrape the absolute bottom of the barrel to find something negative to day.

The music is absolutely fucking 100% killer. I mean... there's just something about that grungy thick bassline that crunches you into high gear ready for a fight. And speaking of fight...

You nailed the theme. Unconventional weapon? We've all hit somebody with a pillow. It's not a strange thing. It happens daily. But it doesn't hurt... which makes it such a useless weapon in a real fight. And this isn't a real fight... it's just a snapshot of a couple of kids getting ready for bed. To an adult it's just a bunch of roughhousing and noise but these kids are deep into some kind of pretend-mortal-kombat with each blow of the pillow being sold like a top rope piledriver to the concrete. This is what childhood was all about. Taking something simple and mundane and turning it into a deadly weapon via imagination. As I said, you nailed it.

I am in awe, and I am inspired.

Lynx says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:26am

There's absolute nothing too critic here... move along.

Haha but in all honestly, this game rocks is every sense! I absolutely love it! Well done, and in 48hours no less!

ruerob says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:29am

Everything about this game is so awesome! I love it!!! Really cute graphics, well made music, super gameplay and excellent theme fit without violence! Best entry I've rated so far! Thank you for this masterpiece!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:05pm

The battle music is awesome. Art is awesome. My highest rated game, yet.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Pssst - We played your game on Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://youtu.be/bmGF2UmUdLM

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:55pm

We had fun with friend :)

esayitch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Holy hells that Nidhogg parody xD Great game, gorgeous graphics and the sound is very effective. The concept is great as well, I'm kinda sorry I didn't have anyone to play it with xD

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Cool game. Certainly picked up on the Nidhogg influence. Would be cool to have multiple rooms of the house to fight through, though you can only do so much in the time I suppose. Excellent presentation and solid gameplay. Good stuff!

nassi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:22pm

I'll have to try this with a friend. If I ever manage to find one. The AI was a worthy opponent too, as long as I held back on those throws (they're indeed quite OP against the AI).

Nice idea, well executed and polished too. Needs online play and more in-depth combat and also needs to be cheaper than Nidhogg so I can buy this instead :P.

broknecho says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Definitely one of the best entries! Amazingly polished Compo game. Great job!

Karsten says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:40pm

How much does it cost to Mash a Button?

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Nice! Very impressive compo entry. Gameplay's pretty straightforward but a good selection of strategies, can CPU Player AI as well. Excellent presentation & audio, top notch!

Karsten says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:45pm

How much does it cost to Mash a Button?

thephantom says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:21pm

sir , your game is awesome :D

although I used the same engine and almost the same tools i never expected that so much responsive Ai and polish can be done in a mere 48 hours ...

great job

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Amazing pixel art job! =)

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Very funny multiplayer game, and super polished!! congraz!!

Split82 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Excelent! :) Actually I was just throwing pillows and it was enough :D

Taldius says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:02am

Amazing game, everything is good in it!

vandriver says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:30am

Well, everything here is so damn polished. However, I can still totally find some criticism. Three different attacks and the scoring system were too complex for a 6 year old. She still enjoyed it anyway, though.

I can't say enough, though, about how perfectly you nailed the title and theme. There should be a category for titles. You're a master.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:05am

Very fun, polished, and fast paced! Awesome. I wish I had a friend next to me to play this with.

Embalaje says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:39am

Just AMAZING well done, funny and original.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:23am

Perfection!

sathorn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Just awesome.

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Cool game! Sadly I have no other human player around and the AI is a bit weak (just spamming B on the XBox controller wins the game).

But just imagining this in multiplayer seems really cool!

Good design, good presentation, top game!

uvwar says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:48am

Now just make the game center around throwing pillows and maybe have pillow swipe hits with ridiculous knockback and you're set!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:01am

Awesome! Great music and really cute, amazing art! Bizarrely reminded me of a friendlier version of Niddhogg :D

Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:32am

Very fun game. Graphics and music were excellent as was the game play. This is a very well polished, fun game in the time you had.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:53pm

5/5 - Super fun, can't stop playing! :D

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Nidhogg with pillows - awesome!

Dreauw says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:48pm

That's impressive. You did well in every categories.
I had a lot of fun.

Bravo :)

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Absolutely brilliant. Obviously very well polished, graphics, animation, music etc... but amazingly the AI is fairly tough to beat, something really hard to implement in a jam. Well done!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Neat and really hilarious. I like the aesthetic ++

mildmojo says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Lovely brawler. This handles really well. I like the way you need a pillow to fight and the pillows are consumables. Everything looks great, especially the feathers floating around. I like how you have to "get your points and get out", too. I guess that's the *hogg part.

Excellent work.

LoHii says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:06am

The game itself ended up being quite simple, but my god, the polish for a compo game.

Anikki says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:07am

Nice.

decodersmith says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Got distracted the first time and died more than once, but as I got the hang of it, it was really fun. Your controls have excellent feel! That isn't even something I can vote on, so I am telling you.

Pierrec says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:59pm

awesome entry! thanks to Canard PC to point it to me :)

NightShadow0 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:35am

Aah i love this! Everything's adorable, the music is amazing and gives the game a serious tone that just makes it all the more adorable. So good.

LandoSystems says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:40am

What a fun game! The controls took a little time to get used to but the gameplay is spot on and the graphical style is fantastic. Lots of juice with the feathers and screen shake. Wish I had some other people around to test out multiplayer... Great work!

MrRoboman says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:31am

This is such a great game! I love it. The art and music are beautiful, the controls are tight. What a pleasant experience.
I eventually learned that mashing on the charge attack allowed me to win every game :)
Keep up the great work!

ChronoDK says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:02am

Yes! This is so awesome. Graphics and sound matches the gameplay perfectly - very good work!

Saker Games says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:15am

Woa, that's cute. And also cool: the graphics and anims are amazing, the sounds and music also. Very fun and retro gameplay. Well done!

May 5, 2015 @ 9:47am

Excellent! My only criticism would be about how powerful the throw attack is compared to the others. Fix that and you've got a wonderful game!

krzymsky says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 10:13am

One of my favorites so far. I really enjoyed playing this.

cmayhem says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 10:49am

Very good!

jk5000 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:41am

Super fun.

May 5, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Amazing job as always :D The background and sprites are amazing!

May 5, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Simple and fun. Well done!

jmborden says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Wow, a 2 player fighting game with AI.. that's not something I've seen yet! Good job on that. Also, graphics and audio were well done. It's nice that it is in Flash so I can just run it in my browser. Good work!

jordgubben says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Lots of fun. Reminds me of Nidhogg some way (and not just the name).

panurge says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Awesome! If bedtime were always like this I would never sleep. :D

renatopp says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Simply awesome

FrederickK says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 12:11am

WOW! Comp!? That's so frenetic!
Awesome job and great idea!

OddballDave says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:55pm

This is a super polished entry and great work for 48 hours. The gameplay is fun too. All round fantastic entry. Good stuff.

Druid says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Amazing entry. Small but really funny and beautyfull game!

Atmospherium says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:19pm

I really the graphics on this, all sorts of nice details from the feathers flying to the characters closing their eyes while they attack. All the visuals really support the idea of kids getting REALLY into their pillow fight.

I was only able to play single player which was fun but didn't offer a lot of challenge. That being said I can imagine that multiplayer would offer a decent amount of depth with how fluid the controls are and how the different attacks could counter each other. I'm definitely wanting to give that a shot at some point in the near future.

Really enjoyed this game.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 7:35am

yessssss

flummox3d says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:18am

Played this on Newgrouds at first without even realising it was an LD entry. Yup. It's that good :)

Ditto says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:09am

This game is really really really really really good! It feels so damn good, the immediate controls and simple gameplay makes it easy to just pick up with a friend and play without having to explain a bunch!

I'm a bit confused as to how the "damage" works tho, sometimes hitting the other player gives me a point, other times it just stuns them? It doesn't really impact gameplay since you just concentrate on hitting the other player until the screen tells you to move, but still!

Very good job on this one, it's soo very polished and good looking and feels perfect and ughhhh <3

dvdfu says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Fantastic all around!

foolmoron says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:38am

Graphics are suuuuuper cute, but also sinister, which makes for a great atmosphere. The music matches it perfectly, dark but with a cheery melody (Castlevania-ish), and the dark clouds behind the windows parallaxing adds to the feel as well. The characters and pillows are brighter, which makes them stand out really well for gameplay purposes.

I didn't really like the gameplay much at all, though. The 4-button controls feel awkward, even with a 360 controller, as I never really got used to the 3 different attack buttons. I ended up either mashing any random button to attack, or just sticking with the throw. The throw feels the best by far and seems to be the most effective, so sticking with just the throw worked for me. I think it might be a lot better with just a jump and attack button, but that might be my personal bias towards 2-button controls. Still, the quick attack was annoying to use because of its vertical canceling. It felt good to be able to float in mid-air while attacking (a faster attack rate would make this feel REALLY good), but it sucks when it totally cancels your jump. The charge attack is similar, but horizontally - canceling your entire forward momentum does not feel good either. The throw maintains both vertical and horizontal momentum, fires instantly, has range, AND gives you a point on hit, so it's both the most effective and the most fun to use.

Speaking of points, they don't make any sense. I've played the game on and off for weeks and I still don't really understand how they work. Quick hits don't do anything to the score... except sometimes? I'm reasonably sure throws and charge attacks give you a point when you connect, but I've had times where they didn't give a point. I dunno. In general, the point system is just there to drag the game on for a while, it doesn't really solve the core issues in the game - which is that it's way too easy to run to the edge of the screen after stunning the opponent. The level is too small, and the stun is way too long. In Nidhogg, if someone jumps over you and starts running to the edge, you have to time to chase them down and get them, while here, there's nothing you can do beyond a hail mary throw. It doesn't have that back-and-forth tension, because basically the first person to get a stun, wins.

Well, that was almost entirely negative stuff, but I think you already know pretty well how good the presentation! And RSBS had such brilliant gameplay, so blame yourself for setting the bar so high :P

tmpxyz says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:18pm

great piece, very well polished.

caranha says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:27am

Wow, it is cute, and rad at the same time. The controls were non-obvious, but once I stopped being lazy and read the text and the bottom of the page everything worked.

I thought the game was really well put together. The "you have to leave the room after getting the three points" was a really nice touch.

Alex Rose says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:48pm

As part of feedback loop, I don't really know what to say - fantastic presentation, looks great. I can't really think of improvements other than adding more rooms and making the AI trickier.

Well done for doing AI too, it's always good to do that with local multiplayer jam games.

I honestly don't have any other feedback that hasn't been said - solid, fun entry.

Jezzamon says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:32pm

good.

tompudding says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Superb. If the CPU player moved during her invincibility period it would be harder to spam them with pillows, but otherwise a mind blowingly polished and superb entry. Best entry I've played

Kitch says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:45am

Great. Just great.

commodoreKid says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:32pm

It's a good and complete game but I think there are better games out there, sorry. (not ours though, ours is shitty)

May 12, 2015 @ 4:12pm

I can't believe i missed this entry during the comp, its so good, congrats !!

Jwatt says ...
May 14, 2015 @ 9:20pm

This one just doesn't strike me as LD winner material. The gameplay is essentially "tap harder to win", with little content or captivating design. I would appreciate it if fans of the game explained the appeal.

Most of the games I thought of as 5-star entries are now sitting somewhere in lower top 100, so I'm legit curious of what the difference in taste (or popularization) was in the end.

NTN says ...
Jun 2, 2015 @ 10:45pm

It is immediately playable and looks great, but the gameplay is severely lacking. I immediately found a bug. The charge attack has no cooldown, so spamming it is a guaranteed victory, at least vs AI.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]