Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

FergusonTV

by FergusonTV - Jam Entry

WHAT IS IT ABOUT
---------------------------------------------------------

FergusonTV is born of our thought about medias interpretation on Ferguson riots, which occurred in November and December 2014.
You embody a cameraman embarked in a helicopter who covers the topic for different News TV and web channels. What will you choose to shoot for the viewers? How will they react?


HOW TO PLAY
---------------------------------------------------------

Use the arrow keys to move the camera around.
Zoom in with Alpha 1 key.
Zoom out with Alpha 2 key.
Focus and start filming actions by zooming on it.
Maximum zoom is necessary to tag the actions


Watch the impact on the audience gauge.
Read the reaction of the news speaker and from the audience on the news ticker.
After 60 seconds, the channel will change.
Every channel has it's own audience and, therefore, expectations... choose wisely to maximize your audience or, on the contrary, lower it.


CREDITS
--------------------------------------------------------'

• The Team •
Pierre Revelin (Producer - Writer)
Anthony Krafft (Game Designer - Writer)
Harold Osswald (Game Designer - Writer)
Romain Ferrand (Artist)
Baptiste Poligné (Artist)
Marc-Antoine Archier (Sound Designer)
Axel Deshors (Programmer)
Lucas Le Gouic (Programmer)

• Special thanks to •
Daniel Quach (Graphic programmer)



Giving us your feedback would be very kind and appreciated.
Peace.

@FergusonTV_LD31

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#69Innovation(Jam)3.91
#201Theme(Jam)3.89
#274Mood(Jam)3.37
#304Humor(Jam)2.98
#309Graphics(Jam)3.67
#408Audio(Jam)2.96
#589Overall(Jam)3.11
#896Fun(Jam)2.44

Comments

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26am

This looks really interesting, wish I could play it, but I'm on mac.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:14am

Very nice graphics, very funny!
Great main menu!
The first Ludum Dare #31 entry I played with a political theme.

Good job!

mortus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:10pm

I like the idea and overall looks of it, but I have no idea how to play. Some hints would be useful. Looks like I've managed to focus on few actions but I don't think that changed anything, and then the channel just switched. Am I missing something here?

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:38pm

@p1x3lruckus : Thank you for your feedback, we uploaded a web player version. Hope you'll give it a try :)

@Drtizzle : Thanks alot :D

@mortus : thank you for your feedback. We updated our entry text to give a bit more details about the controls and objectives.

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:38am

THIS IS AWESOME!!
One of my favourites till now!

Good Job!! :D

masterhyjinx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:47am

I had a hard time playing it as the feedback to my actions was a little confusing. Excellent looking game and a very cool approach and presentation. Audio design and execution was done very well. Good job!

Hell Byte says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:50am

Good Game, but a bit hard humor. I like it!

kiririn51 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:02am

Damn, things got really creepy but I dig the whole concept, I really do.

Hope to see more of this!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:10am

Good interpretation of the theme this time. I think once you're focused on mainly important points, the game becomes a bit boring. Maybe with a lot of channels... but I understand the time they give us to do all this things... Nice entry, I love it :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:13am

very interesting concept you have here!

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:53am

Interesting game.

SushiDestroy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:05am

Like the concept.
But this wryly humour can be misinterpreted, need work to make it a bit more subtle.
Love the pixel art graphims and the animations, all the graphics should be like that.

christopf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:11am

Interesting take on the theme, definitly. Also goodjob to go with relative actual political content, this can't be more published. But i feel a little sad on the view on the Ferguson problem - it doesn't account the original problem and only goes for the riots after it.
So i'm mixed with my feelings about this entry but give you a plus for courage on taking such a difficult theme.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:14am

Great idea, my favourite from the jam so far. Thanks!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:19am

There was a lot of potential for this game, but I feel it fell short. The game has a very specific target audience and is very theme specific. I think a similar game with fictional tv channels and a fictional event (that could very well be inspired on this one) would have worked better.

jrap says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:42am

I commend you for making a game that makes a point and has its eyes on real issues, and I've been following this since your first blog post because I was curious how you would execute this. I have some reservations. As stated above, this game focuses on the riots and not the months-long turmoil the people of Ferguson had been through. I understand this is a jam product with limited scope but I believe an over-simplification of real-life events is shown here, and you might have been safer with an ambiguous or completely fictional event.

I also think you should have censored the racial slurs in the tweets at the bottom but that's a matter of opinion and as a white person I'm not an authority on who can say what.

I'm just sharing some concerns here because I like the game, I think it's well-constructed, bug-free and an innovative concept. You are entitled to your art and your opinion and I'd be happy to chat on twitter about anything we disagree on or need to be more clear about.

ThatsMyJam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:42am

Hah nice concept, I'd have prefered mouse controls but was still fun

jrap says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:52am

I also think you helped simplify the issue by describing the real life events like this:
'FergusonTV is born of our thought about medias interpretation on Ferguson riots, which occurred in November and December 2014.'

no ...following the events of Mike Brown's murder
or ...after a grand jury ruled a cop who committed murder should go free.
You provide little context to the serious issue you're tackling and I think that's a real issue that you could easily fix with some more exposition in the game page.

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:22pm

The game was pretty funny! Just wanted to point out, the Arabic text on the news is not real Arabic :p .

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Thank you all for your feedbacks.
About ferguson : our goal wasn't to talk about Ferguson and the event that occured there but only to talk about the interpretation of the events by the media in general. Ferguson is only a context, not the main topic.

@RogueRogue : it is Arabic, الجزيرة.نت means Al Jazeera ;) (cf. http://aljazeera.net/portal)

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Hi,
We would like to adress the concerns some reviewers manifested about the game. First of all, we think that social movement are complex problems that can't be summarized with a short text. Real Life social issues can be adressed from many points of view and perspetives. A riot is open to interpretations. The only fact is the riot.
What we wanted to express in FergusonTV was the level of "fucked-up-ness" we found in contemporary america and we tried to avoid asserting simplified analysis about the social movement that occured in Ferguson. Rather than that, we chose to make fun of all the bullshit TV analysts and speakers and tweeters like to unload on us every day on those social issues that are the real political life of real people.

Thank you very much for all the feedbacks! It's really nice to see interest in our game.

TL;DR : Ferguson is the context of our game, mediatic coverage of events is the real theme.

lukepilgrim says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:15pm

great idea

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Very interesting idea & background.

On Safari&Mac i see some weird artefacts behind the people sprites.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Ok, since I'm no American (or don't read much news), I don't know much about what this is all about, or what some news channels are supposed to represent (or what their typical stereotype is).
But the overall design with the news-channels is well done, with the text at the bottom scrolling by and so on.

It just would have been great to get more feedback, as to how a specific action influenced the audience, maybe make a big up-arrow or down-arrow appear, instead of the audience gauge silently and unsuspiciously moving up and down.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Interesting approach, the actions are a little messy for the player sometimes but I really like that molleindustria-like satirical fashion (even if the global tone and message is kidda ambiguous sometimes). I think this kind of newsgame could be a really interesting project to improve..

Tuism says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Really interesting, I liked the concept, but the execution leaves me wondering what I'm doing and whether my actions have consequence. If that was the point... Yeah it came across, but then it's not a "game"...

It gets you thinking. Beyond that I'm not sure.

Have you heard of that game coming up called "Riot"?

csanyk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:31am

Wow, amazing. Pretty much blows my #Ferguson riots game away. Superb entry.

#BlackLivesMatter.

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:23pm

topical gaming.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:41am

interesting game but a bit clumsy to play - seemed more random to find things than any real strategy - nice job

runvs says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Very nice entry. Reminds me of riot simulator.
Great work so far!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]