Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

EGOS

by Mopz - Compo Entry

EGOS - Entire Game on One Screen

It's a survival game where your mission is to destroy nature and anyone that tries to rebuild it. Keep on fighting for your noble cause as long as you can, then submit your score to the leaderboard.

Programming: NaaLaa 6
Graphics: the GIMP
Sound: SFXR
Music: OpenMPT

By Marcus "Mopz" Johansson

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#14Fun4.08
#59Overall3.87
#178Graphics3.76
#208Audio3.31
#297Theme3.81
#371Mood3.14
#389Humor2.74
#619Innovation3.05

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57am

Fun, addicting, and difficult gameplay, with very solid skill-based control.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:30am

This is a really nice crunchy arcade game. Well done!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:37am

Wow that was really fun. Kept me playing for a high score.

Odefus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:45am

A solid arcade game and an overall fun game. Couldn't stop playing til I had conquered the leaderboard. Nice job.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:45am

Super juicy. Online leaderboards are impressive, and also really cool for this kind of a thing. Really liked the gameplay surrounding how fragile nature was- added a nice layer of difficulty. Excellent!

Gread72 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:49am

Very Cool

plauk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:50am

Pretty cool. Feels like some old Mac games I used to play, gameplay-wise. Controls are a bit awkward, but that also feels like some old Mac games I used to play... so, it fits. Anyway, neato fun.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:50am

I found myself trying to beat the leaderboard scores. Very addicting and solid gameplay.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:52am

Simple concept, but excellent execution. This has more polish than I think I've ever seen from a compo entry.

Valtaroth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:03am

Fun and addicting game! Great menu music, I would have liked to listen to it while playing as well.

Soron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:27am

Nice :). I would've liked to have the music in the main game screen, as well as the title screen. But, other than that, very solid entry!

spazzarama says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:45am

Good fun! I like how complete this one is.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:17am

nice game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:24am

Nice game, fun concept, loved the sound !

christopf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:10am

Wow, very polished game. It feels quite good, the sounds, graphics, controls harmonize a lot. Is there the possibility to actually win? Doesn't matter. Good job on that 48hours!

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:48am

My favourite so far, love the look and feel of it. Reminds my of my DOS VGA days, and an online leaderboard?! Well done!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:48am

Fun game
Score : 5320

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:48am

Hey what a good simple classic idea well well done! will try the castle, craps adventure and gargoyle attack later!

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Someone summed it up well in the comments. Simple concept, great execution. Everything works really well, I especially like the graphics. I think the enemy shits travel a touch quick for my taste, but maybe that's because i suck. :p

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Glad you like the game :) I didn't have time to make a longer music track, so in-game it's just sound effects.

Bronaldplo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Really nice game, well done. I liked the sounds too :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Cool game! Love the gameplay and the twist of destroying the "good guys". :) Good luck!

cutandreil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Fun game withgrat control.

PERECil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Very fun game. The online leaderboard is a nice touch :).

Von Hunt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Classic arcade style game with tight controls and a satisfying difficulty curve. Good job!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Pretty fun gameplay, nice unified design.

MoltenMustafa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:45pm

This is awesome. Very well done for 48 hours, including leaderboards was a great touch. My favorite enemies were the wall-building guys, because they would frequently trap themselves in a tomb of stone, haha. Really well done.

Meta-link says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Cool game ! It's really fun and I like the graphics, especially the render.
Maybe it's missing music, but you did a good job at coding an online leaderboard !

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:43pm

super fun and addicting! I cant stop playing :D. Definitely a keeper.

wooltech says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:31pm

A fun, very polished shooter. Adding this to my list of games to come back to when I have more time!

Valon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Very cool I like the feel of it!

X54321 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:23am

Well, what I was about to say has already been said by everyone else. Anyways, good jorb!

oranebeast says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:09am

A game that felt completely finsished! Niiiiice!

mathias234 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Overall good could be a few adjustments here and there but i really liked it

zompi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:27pm

I spent far more time than I should... That means it's a great game :D Very difficult at some point and leaderboards... yummy.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:07am

We played your game in our first LD game review!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKO6wvKJawA
Great job! one of the funniest plots so far

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:20am

perfect game - added to my favorites

csanyk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:20am

Very well executed all around, good polish. The play is rather basic, but it's fun for a few minutes.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Funny little game! I Included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/YpdCMKphEUw

InToGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Great fun with nice dinky graphics. Love it!

mystakin says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:18am

Strong arcade-style entry, especially with the online leaderboard available. Starts a bit slow, but once it picks up it's very fun. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]