Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Shitty-Cy-Runner

by purezero - Compo Entry

Just a simple run to collect game. This was my first go at game development and I only had 8 hours to spen so be kind :)

basically run to collect the stars, you start off as the guy at the botom left of the screen and its first to 11 with the other 3 guys

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#587Humor2.45
#768Fun2.86
#930Theme3.27
#952Mood2.45
#1027Innovation2.36
#1059Graphics2.24
#1099Overall2.55
#1896Coolness33%

Comments

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:05am

I think this is a very fun game that fits the theme. I am constantly trying to do it faster, and it's quite addicting. The game is really simple, and the AI is really balanced even thought it's "dumb". :P
However, this game could use some sounds, and more importantly, polishing.

Important: You forgot to upload the source code! Without the source, your submission isn't valid according to the rules!

purezero says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Thank you for the comment! Made me feel better about myself :). Yeah I realised I forgot this yesterday and uploaded the source like an hour after this comment sorry about that.

gmaker says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:35am

funny little game =) stack AI but it's details..

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:38am

Very nice for first go, keep it up!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:38am

Attempted to download the game and was unable to due to a DropBox error. Sorry!

bofink says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:43am

Simple but solid game, good work! :)

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Very fun game! Challenging, works well within its limitations. The controls made for a lot of close-calls with the "competitors" which was nice, although there seems to be a point where the game is easier because of all the obstuctions (although at another point it seemed like I couldn't get any stars because of them :P) Overall one of the more enjoyable gameplay experiences I've had this LD

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Very fun game. It has this addicting quality that makes me embarrassed to say that i played it more than once : ) good game though

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:13am

Nice game for a first timer!

Even though the controls are a bit weird (the long sliding), given the fact my enemy use the same moving logic, it makes up for it. For some reason, even though they get stuck a lot, they manage to steal a lot of stars. XD

djk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:23am

Not a bad start! For a first game I'd say it's a success. I think the core concept could be a lot of fun, and from here you just need to tweak various things. Controlling the guy was kind of hard to do, which made bumping into the walls frustrating at times.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Very nice for a first try at game development! :) It was pretty funny to have the AI players rush me to get the star, only to transport me to it instead. It was a bit weird how the vertical movement seemed to be 'dominant' in that if I held UP & LEFT, I only moved UP.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:12pm

cute game, really enjoyable to play, but the AI was a bit too dumb in my opinion. good job!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:55am

Good for 8 hours. Reminded me of TagPro!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]