December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Comrade Santa

by Yapikom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yepp. I did it again. Couldn't get anywhere with my first idea, so I restarted at the last hours. The player sprite was literally made in the last 60 seconds.

Sorry for the wonky camera. I had a better setup while I was working on it, but that was copy pasted from the forums so I had to remove it and I didn't have time to make my own.

Controls:

R: Restart current level.
Move: Arrowkeys.
Shoot: X.
Jump: Space.
Change weapon: 1 and 2.


Warning: May contain traces of goat.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#272Humor2.81
#487Fun2.58
#558Audio1.55
#584Overall2.60
#602Mood2.30
#625Graphics2.20
#705Theme2.13
#753Innovation1.67
#776Coolness45%

Comments

jahlgren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:19pm

Would have been good to also allow up arrow for jumps. I were surprised when i encountered the first goat! :)

Frolacosta says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:21pm

Couldn't get past that goat xD

Good job here though, and very fitting with the time of year! My only complaint is that the controls are a bit awkward to use

CptBubbles says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:30pm

I fucking hate those goats...
Great game, though :)

Volpes says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:40pm

Love the meatboy like bouncing of walls

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:56pm

Damn that boss is hard!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:00pm

Wee, particles! And that goat sure is scary! +1 on audio for that goat sound. I got to the level with the big moving red thing dropping bombs and had no idea of what to do.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:38pm

Nice plateformer. I like the goats, they are so dangerous.
I give up after four tries against the boss.

Xeke_Death says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:47am

Goats keep trying to fall on my head..!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]