December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Mr Wizard VS The World

by Jacic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game isn't the most user-friendly, and for that I apologize.

You play as Mr Wizard, spawning monsters to fight those pesky heroes in this turn-based arena fighter!

Every turn, your mana increases. If you can't cast anything for any reason, press Enter to go on with the turn. If a hero attacks and you have no monsters spawned, you will lose HP and gain mana.

If nothing seems to happen on a turn, the monster(s) or hero(s) missed.

Controls are explained in-game, but I was unable to put some details in, such as the mana cost of each monster.

Here are the stats of every monster:

Slime:
HP: 2
STR: 1
DEF: 1
SPD: 1
COST 2

Skeleton:
HP: 2
STR: 1
DEF: 2
SPD: 2
COST 3

Goat:
HP: 3
STR: 2
DEF: 2
SPD: 2
COST 6

Cat:
HP: 3
STR: 3
DEF: 2
SPD: 3
COST 7

'Monster' 5 is a heal spell, which heals all monsters by 1 HP, and costs 5 mana.

I'm excited about the potential (I think) this game has, and will continue to improve it, maybe to the point where I think it could sell.

This game was made with Haxe + NME + HaxePunk. A linux build should be up soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#389Audio2.33
#456Humor2.25
#508Innovation2.55
#531Overall2.70
#539Mood2.45
#553Theme2.76
#613Fun2.27
#687Graphics2.00
#711Coolness47%

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:37pm

fun! I liked this mechanic

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:25pm

Would be useful to have some basic instructions during the game (just "Press 1 for..." etc). Good concept though.

kewry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:05am

web link is completely black, flash version 11.5 chrome
windows link throws [email protected]_env__1

dekart says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:10am

Simple and fun :)

Nutter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:41am

Also get nothing for the web version, just a black screen

strong99 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:58am

Simple game, but I never got past the last hero :( Enjoyed it.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:23pm

I had great fun killing the boss. Had more fun destroying the hero partys though!

Jacic says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:43pm

kewry, Nutter: Do you have a filter running? Is there any newer flash version? I've uploaded versions that might fix it, but you two are the only ones encountering this. :(

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:30pm

Might have been nice to put the monster info on the bottom of the screen, or somethin'.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:57pm

good game

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:25pm

That is one mean goat monster! Hehe, nicely done with that.

It was a bit hard to tell what was going on and when. Animations would have been great, but even just some simple +5 or -1 or some way to show that stats have changed due to attack would have been good!

Fun enough though I wasn't fully engaged.

Good job! :D

azurenimbus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:00am

Fun game! I definitely agree that this has potential, Jacic, you should keep at it and explore the dynamics some more. Nicely done. :)

Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:26am

Managed to beat the boss! this was pretty good, it could use lots of refining and making it clearer whose turn it is and who did what, but otherwise I liked it.

Jacic says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:21pm

Thanks for the kind words everyone!

I've uploaded post-compo versions, which include a visual reminder of which keys spawns which creatures, as well as the mana cost for each. The windows build is also fixed for real now (post-compo version)!

delpes says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:16am

Cool. Had fun with it :)

Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:20pm

arrgh I got the boss down to 1 then died!! Fun idea would be worth working on to make it more responsive and a bit mroe fun

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]