December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Brain Mastermind

by Shot - Jam Entry

Solo project with 100% art and game from scratch, used the jam deadline for extra time only.

Used Java + Slick2D.
Photoshop for image creation.
Tiled for tilemap creation.

-------

The actual "game" didn't get finished, what exists is the base which would be your hub for the game, from which you would design more complex robots to complete tasks in other levels such as collecting items, activating switches, and moving objects.

Example level: http://i.imgur.com/sgWmA.png

The game engine is pretty much all there for it, so I'll probably implement it all another time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#57Innovation(Jam)3.44
#94Graphics(Jam)3.67
#174Humor(Jam)2.53
#206Theme(Jam)3.06
#209Mood(Jam)2.65
#219Overall(Jam)2.78
#250Fun(Jam)2.39
#884Coolness37%

Comments

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:35am

Really liked the graphics, they all had good "character" and a surprising amount of depth. Well done!

master4523 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:56pm

Neat interface, but the gameplay is a bit confusing. What is the objective?

Ed Okonik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:30pm

Interesting game with some nice ideas and graphics.

mcc says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:46am

i like the idea behind programming a little robot minion in game, and how it works seems pretty complex. i sort of wish the game wasn't so particular about what you could and couldn't do. i wanted to see my robot be all messed up and goofy :)

krutech says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:59pm

I really like the idea, too bad you did not finish all of it!

StMatn says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:05pm

The idea is so epic... I'd like to play the finished game so much. Graphics look amazing!

awppy says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:05pm

Interesting idea for a logical puzzle game. A shame you weren't able to get the game done, it could be lots of fun and plenty challenging with more space for AI instructions.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:29pm

Great work. I Like the AI of robots. :-D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]