December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Burglar

by Manuel777 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a thief/burglar, and naturally you go around stealing from people and commiting crimes.

Controls:
Z: Interact, shoot
X: Use weapon (menace, hold before fire)
C: Switch current weapon/item
Arrows: Move


The game was made with GameMaker Studio, and as far as I know, it wont compile on the free version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#80Graphics3.87
#178Mood3.16
#304Overall3.10
#326Theme3.29
#375Audio2.39
#443Fun2.68
#548Innovation2.47
#572Humor1.95

Comments

sanderman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:18am

Interesting.

eShredder says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:39am

I have found a problem. Whenever the character interacts with the first dog or wolf the game freezes.

rylgh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:31am

love the way it looks, so gorgeous

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34am

Some game freezes and the water was hard to see. I love the look of it, though.

ix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:49am

Neat little thing. Nice graphics style. Game froze when I got near the dog, though.

angelk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:57am

I love the minimal color palette and simple controls. A good gameboy game. I kept dying to the water which was hard to see.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:59am

Brace yourself for some hopefully constructive criticism. Sorry for slamming your game if you already know these.

The controls are confusing. Having to hold x and then z to use a weapon is confusing. It's not obvious that you can enter houses, and that z is the button to press to do that. I only skimmed through the control section, but it should have been easier to understand.
Not engaging quick enough. I had to play for quite a while just to understand what was going on, and how to get back up to the top. Most people will only play a game for max 1 minute before moving onto another game if it's not interesting.
No obvious goal. Maybe there is one, but it seems like you would have to play the game for a while to figure it out.
Freezing when you die. This is major enough to be considered a bug, IMO, and you should try and fix it. Forcing people to refresh the page to replay the game would make lots of people leave.
Also that dog is poorly positioned, as you usually die before even realising that it's there, and that you're meant to avoid it.

Other things: Avoid using z as a control because it's not in the same place on every keyboard.

Theme use was average. You want to tackle the theme in a more interesting way, or more successfully use the concept to get a higher rating.

Graphics were good and bad. The mono-coloured thing worked Ok, but personally I think it's a bit ugly. Because of that, it was hard to tell what was people and what wasn't. But you managed to make a lot of graphics, so that's pretty good. I think you should've focused more on the gameplay first.

Overall the game wasn't too bad, but it did seem quite unfinished.

...wow I should learn to shorten my feedback, or else I won't have time to rate any games. XD

suve says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:01am

The graphics, although nice, are poorly contrasted and it's often hard to distinguish between things. Game crashes upon 'dying' for the second time, sometimes it's able to get stuck in the floor. Overall, I'd say it's quite pleasant.

Manuel777 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:08am

Nice, lots of criticism :D
Yes, the dog is VERY bad positioned and I will try to fix that dog-death bug asap.

Jezz: Thats a lot of cool info, beware this was only tested by me, this is a common LD dev issue: Not giving enough info on the gameplay. But you realized about the doors and shooting, so it wasnt that bad of a control scheme :D I didnt knew the Z thingy trough!
The colouring was made like that for a simple reason; time. I dont like it on many areas neither, but thats cool for a 48h game, if this was more serious, I would have added a couple more colors to contrast more areas.

Thanks for playing guys! :)

namuol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:17am

What did you use to make this?

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:22am

I got a little lost, and the jumping controls are xtreme.
I wish everything was slightly larger though - the menace animations are just a bit too tiny.
Nice though.

vids says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:06am

I think I like it a lot. The controls are not obvious but fun to use once you get the hang of it. I like the knife and shooting because you have to stand and use the weapons, the game doesn't give that run-gun vibe to it, which is just great.

I agree that there's not enough contrast and sometimes objects are hard to distinguish, but the hazy graphics give the game a kind of mood that I really enjoyed, feel like I should stick around and explore.

Wouldn't it be great to have a hundred or so hours in this world with funky characters to meet and mysteries to explore? HERE TAKE MY MONEY!

caranha says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44pm

Interesting game. I liked the graphics a lot, it gave a consistent feel for the game. Maybe increasing a bit of contrast like the others said would make it better, but it does have a Gameboy-esque feel.

As for the game itself, it felt a bit short. You go into the house with the dog, then there is the item shop, and that is it? The jump was a bit too high, and I couldn't figure out that you needed to press X THEN Z to attack, as one commenter wrote it.

Also, crazy story with the party and the mugging in your blog! I'm happy that you are well, and managed to take something from the experience :-)

Cheers!

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:34am

I really like the art style of them game. The controls didn't feel very natural, unfortunately (Holding X then pressing Z, etc.). I also feel the jump height is too high for a fixed-height-jump design; perhaps a quick-release, short-hop of sorts would make things feel more controllable. Aside from these though, good work. :)

pbdiode says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:56am

I really liked the art in this: good job! BUT it was a little hard to see -- there could have been a little more contrast between the fore and back grounds.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:00am

Hahah... this was the first game I rated, so I think I was a bit too harsh.

Graphics were quite good actually. A little washed out as people said
And yeah, the game needed a goal, really.

uuav says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:25pm

I love the gun animation, makes me feel so badass.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:35pm

I got quite a few bugs, I kept getting stuck in the stairs and having to restart. Nice graphics though, and I enjoyed firing the gun

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:06am

Nice art style, gives it a moody feel. I got stuck in the stairs though, and couldn't continue.

bentog says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:18pm

I killed the dog and now what? Nice game, the art is terrific, but the goal is a bit confusing.

Vavassor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:18pm

Not really a bug that impacts the game too terribly much, but you can jump while falling after walking off a ledge to get sort of a double-jump, which doesn't make much sense.

Manuel777 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:28pm

Vavassor: Yeah just noticed that one, I blame the lack of proper engine testing :P

pereubu says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:25pm

nice aesthetic there, the game is quite interesting, reminds me of my ol' gameboy games, great job D:

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:30am

Gorgeous.

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 7:47pm

I liked the controls. Reminded me of games like flashback. Lol I'm old...

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 3:02am

Great feel.

csanyk says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 12:43am

"Press any key" is a lie. I really liked the drab color scheme and the graphic style. It didn't seem like there was very much to do, or maybe I'm just missing things that aren't obvious to me. I figured out how to get coins, switch items, and use the store, but somehow Z didn't seem to work for me. And once or twice I got stuck on things after jumping.

fishbrain says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Very cute graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]