December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dastardly Fiend

by PixelMonkey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with Construct 2. You are a Dastardly Fiend who has kidnapped a damsel. Heroes are storming your castle, each wanting to be the first to save her. Click on the pathways as the heroes arrive to activate traps and stop them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#62Theme3.94
#66Fun3.56
#92Humor3.44
#140Graphics3.61
#158Mood3.21
#263Overall3.17
#279Innovation3.06
#375Audio2.39
#1150Coolness10%

Comments

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 6:11pm

My highest score is 76, by the way.

xviniette says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 8:07pm

Very good game !

allinlabs says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Simple but funny :)

pinion says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:51pm

Got 61! Good fun

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:11am

Thanks =]

pbdiode says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:59am

Very fun game! Good job!

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:09pm

The traps made me laugh - although they're a bit hard to click on the right one which made me lose a few times

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:49pm

Very fun game!

7Soul says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:55am

Hehe, pretty cool, i like the variety of characters. The controls are not the best though

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:06am

Thanks for the comments! I was originally trying to put this on Android, so the controls were made with that in mind. Clicking anywhere on the three pathways will trigger the traps, not just clicking on the traps themselves.

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Cool concept and fun. Its a little fast for my reflexes though :)

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:13pm

Simple but very fun. I like it. :)

Spiridios says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:26pm

Very simple, fun game. Would've like a keyboard control option in addition to the mouse as the mouse seemed a bit hard to register which trap you were intending to click on.

gnx says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:36pm

Graphics look very nice, I like the animation details. Gameplay is very simple. I find it a bit frustrating though that sometimes clicking the flame trap will register for the pinball paddles instead, kind of ruining the intended fast reactions gameplay.

Fenmar says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 4:13pm

I can perfectly imagine this being a game for mobile devices. For the PC, I think keyboard controls would have been more precise.

jujule says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:39am

Haha ! Plain simple fun. I enjoy the fire trap the most. Maybe you could add death animations for the two others.
Great work !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]