December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

GoatSoccer

by hirsch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is unfinished, so the goats are no villains and do not foul other goats YET. A post compo version which contains the theme will follow. (GUI too)

This is a MULTIPLAYER TELNET game. Download and start the server file (works with wine and linux, too). Connect to your server using the command shown by the server. Everyone using this command in your local network can play with/against you. If you want you can use port forwarding to play it over the internet. Since it is TELNET it runs with every operating system (the server doesn't).

NOTES: This game does not work with PuTTY. Use your system telnet client instead. (Windows 7 users have to enable Tenlnet-Client (not server!) in the control panel. This can be done in the software de/install window by clicking the 'activate windows functions' link)
If you are using linux you have to write telnet lowercase.

Thanks for playing
Don't forget to check out the awesome post-compo version :)

Hirsch

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1081Coolness20%

Comments

hirsch says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:27pm

If you do not have anyone to play this game with, you can create 4 telnet instances and play with yourself ;)

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Awesome! Great idea for the telnet game

MvT says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:08pm

I have anyone to play with, so i just rate the graphics. :/

Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:58am

Ambitious, but I'm way too drunk to know what I'm doing.

Xavier says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:57am

Hard to play alone ;-) Anyway, cool concept!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:08am

While the idea was ingenious, I got some megalag when connecting to localhost with 4 telnets. I must examine the source and see how it was done however!

Neonlare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:46pm

Not really to do with villains but still pretty fun for the while :D. Long time since I've seen a Telnet game.

krutech says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:54pm

Awesome!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:37pm

Examined the source today and am now wondering why you don't kill yourself after working with AutoIT..? It seems so ridiculously verbose and messy! I commend you.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:49am

This has no link to the theme at all but technically interesting idea for a 4-player soccer (or football in civilized countries) game. Worked fine in Mac OS X with 4 tabs in Terminal. Now if only I had friends with telnet...

SFX says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 2:11am

This really doesn't have anything to do with the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]