December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

YOU ASTRROID

by Tanner - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A - move left
D - move Right
SPACE - slow down

You play as an evil - but cute - asteroid on it's way to earth.

Also this is a casual game. You can't loose. Ever. (..Maybe i didn't finish it)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#351Humor2.58
#404Graphics2.83
#534Innovation2.50
#594Fun2.31
#602Mood2.30
#614Overall2.52
#630Theme2.50
#670Coolness49%

Comments

Fireblend says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09am

This is fun! And I like how it looks. It seems to me like either the distance bonus isn't getting counted of it's too small to make much of a difference. Also, it would've been good for there to always be reachable cubes, so that the player will feel like starting over from the top is his/her fault.

Tanner says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:12am

@Fireblend: Thanks for the feedback. There is a lot of polish missing :(. The Cubes Positions are also seeded randomly - which somehow defeats the idea of a highscore :(

Hume says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:41am

Smooth controls, nice parallax scrolling background and a cute main character. I feel like he just wants to give the Earth some hugs!

Radiatoryang says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:51am

kind of reverse doodle jump, cool concept but wish I got a better sense of progress

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:18pm

Good concept !

Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:28am

so cute!!!

DTG says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:39am

good execution of a nice casual game, some music would give it a really meditative feel, watching the little asteroid bounce around

brantkings says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:48am

I like the mystery to it.

blob says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:13pm

That's gotta be the cutest asteroid I've ever seen. The way he flips out after charging the planet and just bounces like an asteroid on cocaine is hilarious.

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:45am

A nice entry, although I could not manage to see the astroid all that often as it kept flying out of the screen... (latest Chrome version on OSX)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]